Using Windows WMI in mixed environment

Having issues? Post them here, and help other users.
Post Reply
ChrisD
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 1:25 pm

Using Windows WMI in mixed environment

Post by ChrisD »

Is there a way to have different logon credentials for different hosts?
I am monitoring servers for a couple of different companies, each have their own separate domains.
Thanks!

ChrisD
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 1:25 pm

Re: Using Windows WMI in mixed environment

Post by ChrisD »

I've been playing with this and it seems that the servers, even in different domains, will accept the logon as long as the username/password match.
The domain information doesn't appear to be important, at least to the servers I've setup monitoring with (so far).
I've tested with the domain information in the logon (mydomain/netmonitor) and without the domain (netmonitor) and the monitored servers didn't seem to care.
I don't know if that is just something about my server configuration or not.

ChrisD
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 1:25 pm

Re: Using Windows WMI in mixed environment

Post by ChrisD »

Another update. If your checking a domain controller it will work if you only use the username without a domain being specified.
However if your connecting to a computer that is not a DC but is the member of the domain, you do need the domain/username entered. It maybe possible to not use the domain if you create a local account on the non domain controller, but I didn't test that.

Post Reply