Fresh NEMS install accessing massive amounts of web data

Having issues? Post them here, and help other users.
beaker

Fresh NEMS install accessing massive amounts of web data

Post by beaker »

Hello,

Two days ago I installed NEMS on a Raspberry pi. I'm new to NEMS and haven't configured anything yet on the server. 
This morning I was browsing my data usage via a Unifi USG(new to this too) and noticed that since I've installed NEMS this server showed the following data usage for Web...

Category: Web
Application: HTTP
Down Bytes: 21.5 GB
Up Bytes: 2.74 GB
Total Bytes: 24.3
Down Pkts: 16055013
Up Pkts: 6368559
Total Pkts: 22423572

What on earth is this server doing?
System uptime info:  Uptime: 2 days 03 hours 32 minutes 25 seconds

It doesn't seem to be storing anything locally.
/boot Used: 40.02MB (15.88%) Free: 212.03MB Total: 252.05MB
/ Used: 3.59GB (20.29%) Free: 14.11GB Total: 17.70GB

Anyone have any suggestions?
-Daren
Last edited by beaker on Sun Apr 05, 2020 3:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Robbie Ferguson
Posting Freak

Re: Fresh NEMS install accessing massive amounts of web data

Post by Robbie Ferguson »

Sounds to me like you've left the sample checks as is and haven't tweaked them to suit your environment.

Modify the "NEMS: Internet Speed Test" check command sample that is scheduled to run automatically out of the box.

speedtest uploads and downloads data, and the demo check command is scheduled to run every 30 minutes during OK status. More often if it's in a bad state. So if you have a relatively slow Internet connection (outside the sample's thresholds), it will check the speedtest every 5 minutes.

The demo speedtest check is set to a 10/10 threshold before it goes into a fail state. So if your Internet is slower than say, 20/20, you'll be in that bad state where it will run every 5 minutes.