Failed to get host-alive check for host

Having issues? Post them here, and help other users.
User avatar
Robbie Ferguson
Posting Freak
Posts: 828
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 3:23 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Failed to get host-alive check for host

Post by Robbie Ferguson »

Okay thanks for confirming. Hold on to your backup.nems file, and if you can hang tight on 1.5.1 for the moment, I'll determine what's going on and issue an update.

Cheers,
Robbie
StrackeJ
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2020 5:45 am

Re: Failed to get host-alive check for host

Post by StrackeJ »

Hi Robbie,
okay, thanks for the quick answer.
I have on my "productive" NEMS still 1-5-1 running.
1-5-2 is only on my dev-Pi.
If you want, I can give you further informations.

Juergen
User avatar
Robbie Ferguson
Posting Freak
Posts: 828
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 3:23 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Failed to get host-alive check for host

Post by Robbie Ferguson »

Thank you so much. I am however aware of the NEMS MIgrator issue now with 1.5.2, and am actively working on a fix. Watch the site for Build 2, at which point you can run a sudo nems-quickfix on your dev unit to get the patch.

It's a doozie of a problem. Hoping it won't take too long to fix. Probably a few days.

Cheers,
Robbie // The Bald Nerd
plawer
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2020 9:57 am

Re: Failed to get host-alive check for host

Post by plawer »

Since I didn't have that many hosts, I ended up reconfiguring everything on 1.5.2. Looking forward to a patch so I won't have to do that after the next update :)
Benny54
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 12:38 pm

Re: Failed to get host-alive check for host

Post by Benny54 »

Hi,
I have the same issue here. Because my SD card in my RPI with version 1.5 was corrupted i installed the latest version 1.5.2 on a new card and restored the backup file. All seemed to be okay until i added a new host and tried to generate a new Nagios Config. Then i got this error: [ERROR] Failed to get host-alive check for host 'NEMS'. Make sure the host is linked with a host-preset. Aborting.
I do not have a 1.5 nor 1.5.1 image. I only have a backup file of a 1.5 installation.
What is the best way to go now?
Thanks in advance.
Regards, Benny.
StrackeJ
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2020 5:45 am

Re: Failed to get host-alive check for host

Post by StrackeJ »

Hi,
there is actually no patch available to solve it.
I´m waiting for that.
I have still version 1.5.1 running.
If you have not so much devices, you can create them new on the fresh v. 1.5.2
;-)

BR,
Juergen
Benny54
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 12:38 pm

Re: Failed to get host-alive check for host

Post by Benny54 »

Hi Juergen,
Thanks for your answer. I followed up your advice to newly configure 1.5.2 but now i run into a new issue.
On the NEMS server i see two new checks: Room Humidity and Room Temperature.
Because my RPI does not give this info. How could i disable these checks?
Regards, Benny.
StrackeJ
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2020 5:45 am

Re: Failed to get host-alive check for host

Post by StrackeJ »

Hi Benny,
I think, you can exclude the service from the nems-host.
BR,
Juergen
StrackeJ
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2020 5:45 am

Re: Failed to get host-alive check for host

Post by StrackeJ »

Hi Robbie,

any news about a patch for the import of the config from 1.5.1 to 1.5.2?

Best Regards,
Juergen
Benny54
Junior Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 12:38 pm

Re: Failed to get host-alive check for host

Post by Benny54 »

Thank you Juergen. You pointed me in the right direction. Now I managed to remove these two unused services.
Regards, Benny.
Post Reply