NEMS won't resolve hostnames defined in the DNS of our Windows 2012 R2 server

Having issues? Post them here, and help other users.
fmk-belgrade

NEMS won't resolve hostnames defined in the DNS of our Windows 2012 R2 server

Post by fmk-belgrade »

Background (my experience with NEMS):
I'm relatively new to NEMS (i've set it up 2 or 3 times now) and I am in the process of using it in a real production environment.

Background (our issue):
Like most environments a bunch of our machines have been given hostnames in dns (type = HOST(A)). For example, our domain controllers are called DC01, and DC02 respectively. Needless to say these machines are reachable by their hostnames from windows machines on our network.

Our Issue:
None of these hostnames are resolvable on our NEMS deployment. If you define the host with the IP address in NEMS it works fine, but if you use the DNS name (for example DC01) it is not reachable. We obviously want to use DNS names in NEMS to define our host objects because their IPs could change in the future and that would require a complete reconfiguration of NEMS.

NOTE: one reason this is such an issue for us is because we already have a major network restructuring in the works and anticipate our whole IP scheme could change.

Thank you for your work and support.
Attachments
NEMS wont resolve.jpg
Last edited by fmk-belgrade on Fri Sep 22, 2017 4:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
Robbie Ferguson
Posting Freak

RE: NEMS won't resolve hostnames defined in the DNS of our Windows 2012 R2 server

Post by Robbie Ferguson »

Hi there,
So are the hostnames setup on an in-house DNS server? Or just DNS entries in host files?

If you type:

Code: Select all

nmcli dev show | grep DNS
I think you'll find your NEMS server is using DNS from an outside service (ie., Internet DNS, not LAN). Is that the case?

So would changing the DNS to your in-house DNS server be the answer?
Robbie Ferguson // The Bald Nerd