Backups and Images

Having issues? Post them here, and help other users.
tonydi

Backups and Images

Post by tonydi »

Complete newbie here so I have a couple of questions....

One, am I correct in thinking that the backups are happening automatically on a set schedule and the only thing I need to do is either download one manually or set up a wget process?

Second, a friend is interested in setting up his own NEMS Pi. Can I use something like Win32 Disk Imager to create an image file of my NEMS SD Card and create a ready to go SD card for him? Our needs are super simple so the hosts/services would be the same. But I recall seeing a hardware ID listed in one of the NEMS screen so I'm wondering if each install is tied to the individual Pi.

Thanks!
Robbie Ferguson
Posting Freak

RE: Backups and Images

Post by Robbie Ferguson »

Welcome to NEMS  :)

1) Please read https://docs.nemslinux.com/features/nems-migrator

2) No, once activated your NEMS build is specific to your hardware (a NEMS Hardware ID is assigned to it). If you image it and give it to your friend, it will cause NEMS' central servers to think he is you, which will cause all kinds of problems with your backups and settings. You could instead use NEMS Migrator (see 1 above) to send him the backup.nems file. I'd suggest removing your smtp settings from your NEMS SST before creating the backup for him though (otherwise he might be using your email account).

Have fun!
Robbie Ferguson // The Bald Nerd

Did I help you out? Appreciate what I do? Please consider saying thanks:
tonydi

Post by tonydi »

Thanks for the info, Robbie!

What role does the NEMS central server play in this whole thing? I thought everything was self-contained on the Pi?
Robbie Ferguson
Posting Freak

Post by Robbie Ferguson »

Yes, but no  :)